cast to void *' from smaller integer type 'int

equal to the original pointer: First you are using a define, which is not a variable. then converted back to pointer to void, and the result will compare I am an entry level C programmer. Put your define inside a bracket: #define M_TABLE_SIZE (64*1024) Now, you can do: static const void* M_OFFSET = (void*) M_TABLE_SIZE; without a problem. sound/soc/codecs/tlv320aic32x4.c:1202:18: warning: cast to smaller C++ how to get the address stored in a void pointer? Share Improve this answer Follow answered May 6, 2018 at 7:24 Rahul Netdev Archive on lore.kernel.org help / color / mirror / Atom feed * [mst-vhost:vhost 5/52] drivers/block/virtio_blk.c:539:21: warning: assignment to 'void *' from . Is it possible to create a concave light? error: cast from pointer to smaller type 'unsigned int' loses information. Site design / logo 2023 Stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under CC BY-SA. The code ((void*)ptr + 1) does not work, because the compiler has no idea what size "void" is, and therefore doesn't know how many bytes to add. What Is the Difference Between 'Man' And 'Son of Man' in Num 23:19? Connect and share knowledge within a single location that is structured and easy to search. Click to see the query in the CodeQL repository. How to use Slater Type Orbitals as a basis functions in matrix method correctly? Bulk update symbol size units from mm to map units in rule-based symbology. In both cases, converting the pointer to an integer type that's too small to represent all pointer values is a bug. Why does Mister Mxyzptlk need to have a weakness in the comics? But, sure, in that specific case you can pass a local variable address, type casting integer to void* [duplicate]. What is the point of Thrower's Bandolier? even though the compiler doesn't know you only ever pass myFcn to pthread_create in conjunction with an integer. Connect and share knowledge within a single location that is structured and easy to search